A look at the NCAA Division III World Series in Cedar Rapids

8-school, double-elimination event begins Friday at Veterans Memorial Stadium

A look at the 2022 NCAA Division III World Series in Cedar Rapids

Veterans Memorial Stadium, home of the Cedar Rapids Kernels, hosts the NCAA Division III World Series. (The Gazette)

CEDAR RAPIDS – The NCAA Division III World Series begins Friday at Veterans Memorial Stadium and runs for a week.

It’s the third year the city has hosted the event. The eight qualifying schools had to win regional and super regional tournaments to get here.

Chapman (Calif.) Won the 2019 World Series at Memorial Stadium. Salisbury (Md.) Was last year’s champion.

The 2020 tournament was canceled by the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Here is a quick look at this year’s World Series.

NCAA Division III World Series tickets

You can purchase an all-session pass for $ 40. Or else you can pay $ 15 for a per-day ticket ..

They are available at the ballpark or online.

All seats are general admission. Concessions will be sold.

NCAA Division III World Series teams and seeds

Wisconsin-Stevens Point is the nearest school geographically to Cedar Rapids. Marietta and Baldwin-Wallace are schools from Ohio in the tournament.

LaGrange (Ga.) And Trinity (Texas) are representatives from the South. From the East Coast, it’s Catholic, Salisbury and Eastern Connecticut State.

Marietta is the No. 1 seed, followed by (in order) Eastern Connecticut State, LaGrange, Salisbury, Wisconsin-Stevens Point, Trinity, Baldwin-Wallace and Catholic.

The first-round pairings:

  • Marietta (43-5) vs. Catholic (34-14), 10 am
  • Salisbury (36-10) vs. Wisconsin-Stevens Point (40-8), 1:15 pm
  • Eastern Connecticut State (44-3) vs. Baldwin-Wallace (37-11), 4:30 pm
  • LaGrange (42-7) vs. Trinity (Texas) (37-11), 7:45 pm

A look at the NCAA Division III World Series teams

  • Baldwin-Wallace (37-11): The Yellow Jackets are in the World Series for just the second time, the other being in 2014. Four of B-W’s losses have come to fellow tournament entrant Marietta. Started the season by winning its first 10 games and 13 of its first 14. Junior corner infielder Luke Vonderhaar has hit 19 home runs this season and has been hit 15 times by pitches.
  • Catholic (34-14): The Washington, DC, school is a first-time World Series qualifier, the first World Series qualifier from the Landmark Conference. Head coach Ross Natoli is in his 37th season at the school and has over 700 career victories. Senior Peter Giombetti has a school-record 15 home runs this season.
  • Eastern Connecticut State (44-3): Second World Series appearance in the last nine years. The school already has four national titles. Warriors are on an 18-game win streak and set a school record for most wins in a season. Senior third baseman Luke Broadhurst has a .425 batting average and 1,365 OPS.
  • LaGrange (42-7): Beat perennial power Chapman (Calif.) In the deciding third game of a super regional to advance to its first D-III World Series. Four of the five Panthers losses have been by one run. They also have a two-run loss and a pair of three-run losses. Infielder Joe Ruth is hitting .441 with 10 home runs, 21 doubles and 82 RBIs.
  • Marietta (34-5): The Pioneers lost their last two regular-season games, but swept through the Ohio Athletic Conference Tournament and their regional and super regional. Marietta won it all in her previous two appearances at the D-III World Series (2011 and 2012). Head coach Brian Brewer is nearing 700 victories in his 22-year head coaching career and three national championships. Marietta hits .384 as a team, with five Pioneers sporting batting averages over .400.
  • Salisbury (36-10): The defending champion Sea Gulls didn’t sail back to the World Series but got back. They lost the second game of their regional, but won three straight after that to advance. In a super regional, they out-slugged Wooster (Ohio), 18-16, in the winner-take-all third game. Senior Jimmy Adkins was recently named D3baseball.com’s pitcher of the year. He is 6-1 with a 1.38 earned run average in 15 appearances, eight starts. Adkins missed the last portion of last season with an injury.
  • Trinity (Texas) (37-11): Won the 2016 World Series. Was awarded an at-large berth to the D-III tournament. Gave up 32 runs in a regional loss to Texas-Dallas. Swept favored Birmingham-Southern in a super regional. Has a 6.06 team ERA. Senior outfielder Brian Schaub has 16 home runs. He started 24 games over a season-plus at Division I Richmond before transferring.
  • Wisconsin-Stevens Point (40-8): Last World Series appearance was 2013. Only the second Pointers team to reach the 40-win plateau, as 41 is the school record (2013). Stevens Point eliminated Coe from the regional tournament at Stevens Point, 10-5. Head coach Nat Richter also played at the school with its most famous baseball alumnus: former big-league all-star pitcher Jordan Zimmermann.

Comments: (319) -398-8258, jeff.johnson@thegazette.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button