Texas Longhorns Win Fourth NCAA Men’s Golf Team Championship

The Texas Longhorns won their fourth NCAA golf team championship on Wednesday, defeating Arizona State, 3-2, at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.

The title was Texas’ first since 2012. Texas also won two in 1971 and 1972 during the days of Ben Crenshaw and Tom Kite.

This was Texas ‘fourth appearance in the finals since the NCAA wen to its current match-play format in 2009. Along with Texas’ win over Alabama in 2012, the Longhorns lost to Oregon in 2016 and Stanford in 2019.

Travis Vick clinched the title for the Longhorns on the day’s final match, as he defeated Cameron Sisk, 1-up. Vick grabbed an early lead and won the first three holes, but Sisk came right back to tie the match on the seventh hole. The match was tied as late as the 11th hole, but Vick won the 12th hole and then held onto the lead. He was 1-up for the final three holes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button