Theater Harrisburg announces 29th annual Arts Awards honorees

Theater Harrisburg has announced the recipients of their annual Awards for Distinguished Service to the Arts in the Capital Region.

Each year, the theater company highlights the careers and contributions of an individual or couple and an organization in our region.

Musicians and educators Ya-Ting Chang and Peter Sirotin have been selected for the individual awards. The duo are co-directors of Market Square Concerts and co-founders of the Mendelssohn Piano Trio, as well as Artists in Residence and adjunct instructors at Messiah University. Chang is a pianist, while SIrotin is a violinist and concertmaster with the Harrisburg Symphony Orchestra.

The Sankofa African American Theater Company was selected as the honored organization. The group was founded in 2015, in an effort for actors of color to take ownership of telling their own stories. The company’s mission is to engage audiences with stories from African American authors, poets, playwrights and musicians, and has been producing original works for six seasons.

The awards will be presented on May 20 in a gala-style event at the Whitaker Center in Harrisburg. The event is open to the public and proceeds benefit Theater Harrisburg.

Back to top button